In 1940 the City Engineer and Surveyor for the City and County Borough of Londonderry published a small linen backed booklet entitled, "Street List and Key to the Ordnance Survey Maps." As well as listing the streets within the Borough, the name of the nearest main Street is provided along with the length of the thoroughfare, the class of road and its position on Ordnance maps. A fairly prosaic exercise at the time but the passage of years and the planned or enforced redevelopment of the past seventy five years has meant that many of the streets are no more. Even more interesting for those who delve into local history is the inclusion of the old names of various streets. Some examples of these are set out below.
Haw Lane - now Academy Road
Greenslaid's Row - now Aubrey Street
Rosemary Lane - now Bennett Street
South Street - now Bishop Street Without
Carabine Place - now Carlisle Place
Breakneck Lane - now Carlisle Pass
Ponsonby Street - now Clarendon Street, (Upper).
Corbett Street - now Pilot Row
King William's Square - now The Diamond
Gratuitous Street - now Ferryquay Street
Gilmour's Lane - now Hawkin Street
Middle Passage - now Guildhall Street
Rosemary Lane - now Linenhall Street
New Walk - now Foyle Street
Silver Street - now Shipquay Street